Nakshatras (Constellations)

Constellations are very important in prediction in Vedic Astrology. The astrologers can predict very accurately with the help of the constellations depicted in one's astrological birth chart.

The ZodiacZodiacDefinition: Heaven divided into 12 signs, of 30° each....
is a circle of 360 degree.

In order to measure the total distance, an astronomical point is established i.e., end of the constellationconstellationDefinition: A group of visible stars making a figure and visible at the night sky. Constellations(Nakshatras) are 27 divisions of zodiac, each measuring 13.20'. They are also termed as Lunar mansions (Nakshatra in Indian Vedic astrology). ...
-Revati (Pisces or Meen Rashi) and starting point of Ashwini (Aries or Mesh Rashi).

There are twenty seven Constellations or Nakshatras, the Indian form of lunar mansions,  each Constellation or Nakshatra is measured 13 degree 20 minutes and consists of four quarters (Charans or Padhas). Thus, there are nine quarters or 2¼th constellations in a Zodiac Sign. Abhijit Nakshatra, an auspicious but not a regular constellation is also considered twenty-eighth Nakshatra in Vedic astrology.

The Nakshatras and Rashis  start at the same point which is the first point of Ashwini (Aries or Mesh) or end of last point of Revati (Pisces or Meen) that is zero degree of Zodiac. The NatalNatalDefinition: Birth, natal chart is used for birth chart....
Moon is placed in the birth-chart, according to the position of Moon at the time of birth (Epoch) of an individual.

Each Constellation is ruled by one of the nine planets and the judgments are made according to the nature of the Natal Constellations.  The results are made according to the house of ruling planet, where the Natal Constellation is positioned.

The Constellation indicates the individual's personality, temperament, health, wealth, illness, and mental abilities. The individuals differ in all the above aspectsaspectsDefinition: Angular distances between planets, based on zodiacal longitudes, calculated in specific degrees, viz trine, square, represent relationship between two planets Planets generally influence 3rd, 5th, 7th, 8th, 9th and 10th house due to their aspect....
due to different constellations in which they are born.

In Indian Vedic astrology, marriage compatibility is based on matching of Nakshatras of both the boy and the girl.

The daily transittransitDefinition: Movement of planets in the sky in real time....
of Moon in a constellation helps in predicting the destiny of that particular day according to the characteristics of that constellation. We can choose the right time for any auspicious event by studying the transit of moon. Some examples are naming ceremony (Naam Karan Sanskar) of a new born baby, predicting the right time (Muhurat) for marriage, starting a new business, journey and construction.

The name of twenty seven Constellations in twelve Rashis are:-




















Poorva shadha

Uttara shadha







Rohini (the brightest Constellation) is believed to be the queen of Nakshatras, as it is exalted point of Moon. People born under Rohini are considered very fortunate and graceful.

Pushya is believed to be the most auspicious Nakshatra for performing all events and makes a powerful auspicious Muhurta if falls on a thursday but it is considered inauspicious for marriage.

Abhijit, an auspicious Nakshatra, lies in CapricornCapricornDefinition: Makar...
from 6.40' to 10.53'.20 (the last quarter of Uttarashada to 1/15th part of Shravan) may be considered 28th Nakshatra.

Ashwini, Ashlesha, Magha, Jyeshtha, Moola and Revati, ruled by either KetuKetuDefinition: Dragon’s tail, used in Indian astrology....
or MercuryMercuryDefinition: Budh...
are considered to be Ganda moola Nakshatra and are considered inauspicious for some astrological horoscopes.

Recommended Books

{module 140}

Site Navigation